Underwater 

June 19, 2016 § 1 Comment


Yesterday I discovered a lost cheap underwater camera, one of those you can buy at airports and beach kiosks. This is my foot underwater in August 2015. I was thinking of good things. 


It was a hot humid day. At the same beach where this hotel has now its umbrellas, I used to come swimming with my grandma and cousins. Grandma wore a huge black swimming suit that looked almost like a dress to me. My mum always bought for me a red bikini, sometimes with white dots. Grandma had a long white ponytail, I had a long black ponytail. She couldn’t swim, I could. She’s gone, I’m still here. Underwater. Love.


The Sirens call the names. The names of the lost loves. It is the water that transports their moans, that turns them into a song, that ties its strophes with sea grass at the backboard of the passing ships. And they hear them. And they stop. And they sink. And the Sirens learn their names. 

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Underwater 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Underwater  at I was not born in English.

meta

